There is no single best med spa software; the right one depends on how clinical your practice is and how many locations you run. From vendor pages read on 30 October 2026, Aesthetic Record has the lowest published per-user price for an injector-led clinic, Mangomint has the simplest published pricing, Boulevard publishes dedicated med spa plans, and Zenoti and PatientNow quote per practice. Vagaro has the lowest entry price, but we could not confirm its HIPAA terms.
How this was made: we read each vendor's own pricing and help pages and did not test the products, so this tells you what they publish, not how they feel to use. Gigabit does not sell med spa software, takes no referral fees and works with whichever you choose. Prices change, some are limited-time offers, and these are the figures on the date above.
The six at a glance
| Software | Published price | Forms and charting | HIPAA, as the vendor states it | Fits best (our judgement) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aesthetic Record | $15 or $19 per user a month, plus $399 startup | Procedure charting, medical director oversight, photos | Lists HIPAA compliance; ask for the BAA | Injector-led clinics wanting clinical depth at low cost |
| Mangomint | $120 a location + $10 a user a month | Forms and charting, SOAP notes | Free with a signed BAA since 1 Aug 2026 | Mixed spa and aesthetic clinics wanting simple pricing |
| Boulevard | Aesthetics plans from $179 a month | Forms, charts, photo markup and sign-off | "HIPAA compliant" on med spa plans; BAA signed in the dashboard | Growing clinics that care most about the booking experience |
| Vagaro | $30 a month for one location; $23.99 for the first six months | SOAP notes, forms | Not confirmed on the pages we read | Budget starts with light clinical needs |
| Zenoti | Quote only | Listed for medspa; ask for a demo | Not stated on its pricing page | Multi-location groups and franchises |
| PatientNow | Quote only | Complete EMR, AI scribe, before-and-after photos | Not stated on its pricing page; ask | Physician-led or larger aesthetic practices |
Treat the last column as a starting point for your shortlist, not a verdict. We left out AestheticsPro because its pricing page did not load when we checked.
What a small clinic would pay
Entry prices mislead, because vendors count differently. Here is the published software fee for one location and five staff who need logins or calendars, before add-ons and card fees:
Three cautions. Boulevard counts "professionals" with bookable calendars, while Mangomint and Aesthetic Record charge per user, so check who counts on your team. Boulevard's Essentials plan at $179 covers up to three professionals, so a smaller clinic pays less than the chart shows. And Aesthetic Record's $399 startup fee means its first year costs about $1,299, against about $2,040 for Mangomint on the same assumptions.
The costs the headline price leaves out
| Cost | What vendors publish | What to ask |
|---|---|---|
| Card processing | Mangomint 2.45% + 15¢ in person and 2.90% + 30¢ virtual; Boulevard from 2.65% | Can you use your own processor? What does your actual card mix cost? |
| Texts and email | Boulevard includes 250 texts on most med spa plans; Aesthetic Record 250–400 per user | What does the next 1,000 cost? |
| Marketing add-ons | Mangomint from $30 a month | Is it needed, or does your agency or email tool cover it? |
| Phone | Mangomint $70 a line | Does it replace your current number? |
| ePrescribing | Boulevard $45 per prescriber; Aesthetic Record from $40 per prescriber | Do you prescribe in-house at all? |
| Onboarding and data transfer | Mangomint free; Aesthetic Record $399 | Are charts and photos included in the transfer? |
| Usage | Zenoti bills voice and SMS by consumption | Ask for last year's usage priced out |
Ask each vendor for a written total at your staff count, your text volume and your card volume for a full year. It is the only number you can compare.
Five questions that matter more than features
1. Will they sign a business associate agreement?
If your clinic is a HIPAA covered entity, software that stores patient information on your behalf is normally a business associate; HHS lists cloud providers that store electronic health information among its examples (HHS). Mangomint's and Boulevard's own pages describe signing one. Do not rely on a "HIPAA compliant" badge: get the signed agreement before any patient data goes in, and check what it costs. Boulevard's support article lists a Medspa Add-on, including its agreement, at $65, so confirm whether your plan includes that.
2. Does the charting fit your medical director's process?
Ask to see, on a real demo, how a treatment is charted from consent to sign-off: lot numbers and units, face mapping, before-and-after photos, and how a medical director reviews charts. Salon-first and clinical-first products differ most here. Your medical director and your state's rules decide what you need, so involve them before you sign. Nothing here is clinical or legal advice.
3. Does booking happen on your own site?
This decides who owns the client. A booking widget on your domain, tied to your Google profile's appointment link, keeps the relationship with you. Check how any marketplace listing and deal features work. Vagaro, for one, lists a Marketplace listing and Daily Deals in every plan, which can bring new clients but also train them to wait for a discount. Our guide to full-price bookings vs discount deals sets out that trade.
4. Can you leave with your data?
Charts, photos, consents, memberships and client history are your records. Ask what format they export in, whether photos come with charts, what it costs and how long it takes. Mangomint says you can take your data with you if you leave; get the same answer in writing from anyone you shortlist.
5. Does it support rebooking and memberships?
Most of a clinic's return comes from clients who come back on schedule. Check memberships, packages, automated reminders timed to each treatment, and how consent works for marketing texts. The med spa marketing guide explains why retention comes before ads.
How to choose in two weeks
- 1Days 1–2: write down your needsStaff count, locations, charting needs, text volume, card volume, must-have integrations.
- 2Days 3–4: shortlist and askPick two or three. Email the five questions and ask for a written full-year total.
- 3Days 5–10: demo with your medical directorWalk through one real treatment, from booking and consent to chart, sign-off and rebooking.
- 4Days 11–12: check the exitAsk for a sample export and a test migration of a few client records, photos included.
- 5Days 13–14: sign the right papersBusiness associate agreement, renewal price and cancellation terms, in writing.
Common mistakes
| Mistake | What it costs | The fix |
|---|---|---|
| Comparing entry prices | A plan that does not fit your staff count | Get a year's total at your numbers |
| Assuming "HIPAA compliant" means covered | A compliance gap, possibly a paid add-on | Signed agreement first |
| Leaving the medical director out | Charting that fails their review | Include them in the demo |
| Choosing on a limited-time offer | A price rise later | Ask the renewal price in writing |
| Migrating without checking photos | Missing before-and-afters | Test-migrate a few client records |
| Letting a marketplace own the rebooking | Paying again for your own clients | Rebook on your own site and reminders |
What to do next
Shortlist two or three from the table, book demos with your medical director in the room, and ask each vendor the five questions. Software will not fill the book by itself, though: clients still have to find you. Gigabit sells marketing to med spas, and runs your website, Google profile, reviews and rebooking around whichever platform you choose; see the plans and pricing.


